Special Awards

Watson Award: Awarded for service to cross-country skiing in Deep River. It recognizes people who make things happen, who do the work and give up time for the cause of local cross-country skiing, even if they are not DRXC club members.

Eikrem Award: Awarded to skiers who exemplify the spirit and sport of cross-country skiing, who pursue skiing year after year and enter the SS regularly in a spirit of participation and enjoyment. This award honours Aston Eikrem, who with Henry Hollo, was responsible for initiating the Silver Spoon Skifest.

Hollo Award: Awarded to volunteers, skiers or not, who have contributed continuously for many years to the smooth execution of some aspect of the Silver Spoon.

Hinds Family Participation Award: Awarded to a family of skiers who have shown a commitment and a love of the sport of cross country skiing. It honours Tony Hinds for his long-time participation in the Silver Spoon. Tony was one of the skiers who participated in the inaugural race in 1973.

Memorable Moments Award: Awarded to a participant/volunteer/person who provided the Silver Spoon committee with something funny, eventful or heartfelt to remember from the previous year's Silver Spoon race. This award evolved from the light-hearted Geritol Award of the early days of the Silver Spoon.