Donate Now Through!


Deep River Community Church Council

Our Council Members 2016

Deep River Community Church has a slightly different organizational structure to most churches.  It is self governing under its own  Constitution but is in friendly association with two of the major churches in Canada (Presbyterian Church in Canada and United Church if Canada).  Church administrative matters are looked after by the staff and Council.  The Council includes the Council Chair and Vice Chair, the Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer and the Chair and Vice Chair of a number of program committees which plan and administer specific aspects of church functions.  The Envelope Secretary and Assistants, the Pastoral Care Committee Chair and the Leading with Care Committee Chair are also members of Council.    A new Council is chosen each year at the Annual General Meeting of the congregation.

The positions for the Council from 2016 are:



Dave Torgerson

Vice Chair


Past Chair

Alistair Miller

Secretary, Circle Representative

Bea McIntosh

Program Committees

Christian Education Committee

Vice Chair

Heather Chaput

Membership Committee

Vice Chair

Pat MacDonald

Missions Committee

Vice Chair

Janna Keeling

Pastoral Care Committee


Vice Chair

the Rev. Andy McKee

Property Committee

Vice Chair

Alan Carmichael

Revenue Committee


Dé Groeneveld

Stewardship Committee

Vice Chair

Jacquie Slater

Worship Committee

Vice Chair

Margaret Miller



Don Barrington

Assistant Treasurer

Elizabeth Ells

Envelope Secretary: (appointed by Council)

Marie Schankula

Assistant Envelope Secretary: (appointed by Council)

Laurel-Anne de Guzman

Tracy Echlin

Personnel Committee

Chair: (appointed by Council)

Alistair Miller

United Church of Canada

CPresbytery Representative

Rod Delaney

Leading with Care Committee

Chair: (appointed by Council)

Jane Janssen

Nominating Committee

Chair: (elected by Congregation)

Alistair Miller

(The above, plus the Ministers, are members of Council)


(recommended by Council, approved by Congregation)

Gary Van Drunen


(elected by Congregation)

Walter Harrison

Evans Harrison

Ellen Sills
Copyright ©
2006-2016 Deep River Community Church
Deep River, Ontario

Lasted Updated: April, 2017
Bright Ideas Software